The Next Big Thing Blog Hop – My WIP

November 21, 2012 § 9 Comments


I was surprised and excited when I checked my email after getting off work today and found that Cassandra Giovanni had nominated me for The Next Big Thing blog hop. Cassandra writes dystopian, paranormal, mystery and romance novels for both YA and adult readers. I have really enjoyed following her posts about her recent work. ;She is a truly creative person and her novels In Between Seasons and Walking in the Shadows are on sale now! (I can’t wait to buy them during the Black Friday sale!)

The idea behind The Next Big Thing is to answer ten questions about a current work in progress. Well, here goes!

1.What is the working title of your work in progress?

I have a lot of things in the fire right now. I’m editing and formatting Saving Angels for publication through Smashwords. I’m stressing out over my NaNoWriMo novel while I let another novel simmer for a while.

The simmering novel is Unethical.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Unethical was inspired in many ways by my profession and poor decisions that I have seen colleagues make over the last ten years. I had trouble understanding how “professionals” could ignore their ethical guidelines and dive into romantic relationships with clients.

I was also curious about women who write to known criminals in prison and end up marrying them. Where does that fascination with the really bad guy come from? Where is the romance in that?

In Unethical I kind of combined those two themes to explore how people can cross such strict boundaries and, in many ways, risk their lives.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

I write crime/suspense. My books usually have a serial killer and a strong female protagonist. (No damsels in distress allowed!)

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, geez. Uh, for Sarah, the strong clinical counselor I think I would choose Rachel Weisz. For Matt, her husband, I think I would choose, I don’t know. For Brian, the dangerous client that Sarah gets entangled with, I would choose Gerard Butler or maybe that hot guy who plays Thor!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A clinical counselor puts her marriage, her career, and her life on the line when she ignores her personal and professional ethics for a relationship with a dangerous client.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Still working on it. I have about 30,000 words right now and that has taken maybe six months in between other projects.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Uh, well, I read a lot of different authors within my genre. I hate to say that I write like any one in particular because you might get your hopes up only to have them dashed after you read my stuff! (Just kidding.) Seriously though, I listen to a lot of audiobooks because I have a long commute. I enjoy books with good dialogue that sounds natural so I try to write the same way.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

People I have seen over the years who made unhealthy choices.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has big explosions! It also has some twists because no one is really who they seem to be. (Dum, dum, dum…)

Five authors I am tagging for this award are:
Victoria Bennett
Michael Sheridan
Stan R. Mitchell
Pat Bertram
Zeinab Alayan

§ 9 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Hop – My WIP

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Next Big Thing Blog Hop – My WIP at Emma Mccoy.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

