Deep Dark Secrets : There ain’t no rest for the wicked

January 15, 2013 § 15 Comments


Picture 018

We all have secrets. Sarah in Unethical has big secrets. So does Matt. So does Brian.

Secrets are interesting organisms. They grow and feed off the host until nothing is left but an empty shell. The parasitic secret can destroy the host quickly or slowly over time.

We work hard to keep our secrets hidden in deep dark places where no one is able to stumble upon them accidentally. Some secrets are hidden in locked boxes. Others in encrypted files. Others are stashed safely in our hearts and minds. A secret that is revealed loses its power over the host and eventually shrivels into a pathetic rodent easily crushed under foot.

Do you have the courage to share your secrets? Do they come out in your writing?

§ 15 Responses to Deep Dark Secrets : There ain’t no rest for the wicked

  • I’m not sure I’d ever be brave enough to share my real secrets, though I sat here an on thought on this for probably three mins and the truth is, I don’t really have any terrible secrets. Maybe a couple embarrassing ones, but who doesn’t have those?

    But the bottom line answer is “no.” I probably wouldn’t share them.

  • Yes I have many secrets. Lets be absolutely frank, we all do! Will I share them? Yes, some of my choosing but some will go to the grave with me. Here’s one secret and it relates to my writing. I am going to be basing some of my characters on people I know / have known. There will be two types. Ones who have asked to be written in. The others most definitely have not. Guess some people might think of that as payback. Ok it is!

  • Writing is the best way to share secrets in a hidden way, but something’s just shouldn’t be shared. To quote my character Abbi “You can face your demons; I’ll closet mine,”
    So, it depends. What are you sharing? ;)

  • The interesting thing about the imagination is that we can imagine having secrets we don’t actually have, and thus give the impression that we’re hiding something when we’re not. And conversely, that we are innocent of secrets when we’re not. So, when you write something, it’s hard for a reader to know just what’s real and what’s not unless they know your life.

  • I don’t have anything about myself that I am painstakingly hiding from the world; maybe my low–level psyche is protecting me from facts and truths about myself, I just have to assume the possibility. There are confidential facts that I keep for other people, as it is part of my job as a (future) security employee, but nothing scandalous, really. If there were something scandalous, I would consider keeping it to myself as a bargaining chip

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Deep Dark Secrets : There ain’t no rest for the wicked at Emma Mccoy.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

